Inactive Account Deletion - FAQ

From time to time, everything needs a cleanup, and that includes our data. Erasing data not only helps free space occupied by all that information, but also ensures that no unnecessary player details are being stored without purpose. That's why we perform periodic purges that remove unused accounts from our servers.

If you've received an email saying that your account has automatically been queued up for deletion, you may be wondering why, how and when this is happening, as well as how to stop it. So let’s get into it!

Why was my account placed in the deletion queue?

Accounts are flagged for deletion when they fulfill all of the conditions below:

  • The account is inactive (you have not logged in over 3 years)
  • You’ve never spent real-life money on this account
  • You’ve played less than 20 combined hours (all games together) on this account 
  • You don’t own any limited edition content in this account

Accounts that meet these requirements are considered no longer used and contain no irreplaceable content or significant monetary value. They belong to players who created a Riot account to try a game, found it wasn't their cup of tea, and left without any plans to return.

If your account was marked for deletion but you'd like to keep it around for any reason at all, don’t worry. This article will teach you how to stop the deletion process further down.

What’s an inactive account?

Your Riot Account is considered inactive if you have spent over three years without logging into any of our platforms. That means no logins in any game clients, websites (yes, even this one), apps, etc.

But remember: just being inactive is not enough for an account to be automatically queued for deletion. All of the four requirements listed in the previous question have to be fulfilled.

How do I stop my account from being deleted?

Before anything else, know that you can only stop the deletion process during the first 30 days after your account is queued up for deletion. After that, all of the data related to your account is permanently gone and cannot be restored, even by us. Think of it as moving a file to trash versus emptying the trash can: If your account is in the queue, it can still be taken out and restored like nothing happened. But after the complete deletion, there's no going back.

If you want to remove your account from the automatic deletion queue, just submit a ticket to Player Support! You can reach out to us and ask to stop this process any time during the initial 30-day period. Once we verify we're talking to the account's creator, we can manually remove your account from the deletion queue.

My account was deleted. What now?

Once the 30-day period expires and the deletion is completed, there’s no way to restore the account—not even through player support. However, you are always welcome to create a new account and start over. The Riot ID and username you had will be available again (unless someone else has claimed them after the account is deleted), so you can even try to keep the same name. Just remember to keep your new account active by logging in or investing enough currency or time, and you won't have to worry about something like this happening in the future.